Share on    Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterest
As our regular readers know, here at Samara Magazine, we love to shine a spotlight on the many great women in Australia at the helm of their own businesses. So, today, we thought we’d share — and congratulate — women recently recognised with national awards, both for business and other outstanding contributions and achievements.

Telstra Business Women’s Awards

Northern Territory

Congratulations to Mary Linnell from Easy Glass Services, who has been named the 2015 Telstra Northern Territory Business Woman of the Year. Mary also won the Entrepreneur Award at the 21st annual event, which was held on Saturday 3 October at the Darwin Convention Centre. Other award winners on the night include: Brigid Beilby from artisanal café Alley Cats Patisserie, recognised with both the Young Business Women’s Award and the Start-Up Award; Deborah Bampton from Somerville Community Services, who received the Purpose and Social Enterprise Award; and Deborah Hall, the most senior representative at CPA Australia in the Northern Territory, who took home the Government and Academia Award.


In Queensland, Dr Catherine Ball has been declared the 2015 Telstra Queensland Business Woman of the Year thanks to her innovative proposal to use drones in environmental and infrastructure surveys. Dr Bell was also recognised with the Corporate and Private Award. Other worthy recipients include: Belinda Brosnan from consulting business, HR Junction, who took home the Start-Up Award; Marie Piccone, winner of the Entrepreneur Award for Manbulloo, Australia’s largest producer of Kensington Pride mangoes; and Susie Upton from Brisbane-based counselling and psychology service, Child Aware, who was honoured with the Young Business Women’s Award.

100 Women of Influence

One hundred of Australia’s most influential women have been named in The Australian Financial Review Westpac 100 Women of Influence Awards 2015. The honours are spread across the following 10 categories: board and management, social enterprise, business enterprise, public policy, innovation, diversity, young leader, global, local/regional and culture.
Those recognised in the presitigious list include:

  • Ann Sherry, Chief Executive Officer of Carnival Australia
  • Aviva Tuffield, Executive Director of The Stella Prize
  • Christine Holgate, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Blackmores
  • Elaine Saunders, Managing Director at Blamey Saunders hears
  • Elizabeth Lewis-Gray, Co-Founder, Chairman and Managing Director of Gekko Systems
  • Fi Bendall, Chief Executive Officer of Bendalls Group
  • Gen George, Founder and Chief Executive Officer for OneShift
  • Kathleen Roma Greer, Artistic Director and Founder of Micro Galleries
  • Lauren Todorovic, Director and Founder of Aged Care Report Card
  • Rebekah Campbell, Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Posse
  • Rosemary Addis, Chair and Co-Founder at Impact Investing Australia
  • Suzanne Young, Chief Operating Officer of the National Rugby League
  • Turia Pitt, Director and Motivational Speaker

Published 7 October 2015.

Image: © efks / Dollar Photo Club

Jennifer Kiely

Jennifer Kiely is Editor and Co-Founder of Samara Magazine. A professional writer, editor and proofreader since 2000, Jen's first paid writing job was at age 19 for fashion retailer, Jeans West.

Latest posts by Jennifer Kiely (see all)